Catherine Gracey

Interview: Herika R. Raymer

In American, Author, Editor on August 30, 2012 at 9:00 am

Herika R. Raymer is an American based in Tennessee. A freelance editor and speculative fiction writer, you might recognise her for her work with Cover of Darkness at Sam’s Dot Publishing or Imagyro Magazine, the official magazine of Imagicopter. I was told in no uncertain terms that I needed to track her down for this website. Fortunately for me she has been super easy to work with, and I don’t have to find out what would have happened if she had declined.

1)   What is something you do in your professional or artistic life that you think is really cool, and why do you think that about it?

I would have to say putting together my geekzine Imagyro Magazine. Why do I like it? Because it helps me draw attention to other people of talent, as I share interviews with them, their websites, and even their experiences at Conventions. I am also a part of Imagicopter – a voluntary co-op of artists and authors who try and promote one another through networking.

2)   How did you come to be in the career position you are currently in?

I am currently an Editor for Cover of Darkness from Sam’s Dot Publishing. I got the position by writing and having a few stories published. The publisher who saw it liked my writing, then talked with me and liked me, so he offered me a chance to read slush as Assistant Editor. The stories I selected impressed him, along with my reasons why, and he promoted me to Editor. It is great experience, and I believe has helped me with my own writing.

3)   What is something from your personal life that you are very proud of?

From my personal life I am proud of my two beautiful children who are intelligent, imaginative, and constantly impress me with their drawings, inventions, and stories. I love them very much!

4)   What is a personality trait you possess that other people might not notice?

That I do listen when people talk to me, and they would probably miss it because I look distracted a lot. I am listening to the person talking to me, but often look around to see what is going on. I am not trying to be rude, I just am interested in my surroundings.

5)   If you could change just one thing about the world, what would it be and why would you change it?

That people would take responsibility for their actions and decisions, and that includes me. Why? Without getting too deep, because I believe taking ownership of one’s actions and decisions would undoubtedly prompt necessary change overall. Of course, I could be wrong.

6)   If you could give a young person one piece of advice, what would it be?

Know that you are loved. Somewhere, someway, there is someone who loves you. I know a lot of people who need to hear that.

7)   What is something that you would like to do in your life that you haven’t done yet, and why haven’t you done it?

Make a living from writing! Which I most likely have not done yet because I have not found a product that breaches the small percentage of stories that are highly marketable. Yet I keep hoping to write it!

8)   What is something that you have sworn to never do again?

Never become part of management, in anything – jobs, committees, conventions, etc. Too much confrontation and stress. Not good for my health.

9)   If you could break one personal habit, what would it be and why would you break it?

Procrastination, and let me get back to you on that. (smile)

10)   If you could take up a new hobby or learn a new skill, what would it be?

Animation, have always loved drawing and would like to be able to draw an animation.

11)   Is there anything from you that we should be looking out for in the future?

Yes, ‘Charm of Dragonelles’ from Kerlak Publishing – a novel I am currently wrapping up. I sincerely hope people will enjoy it, as it is a fantasy story meant for all ages. I would go into more, but I would like to wait until it is published.

Thank you, Herika, for taking the time to answer my questions.

If you would like to know more about Herika, you can find her on Facebook or at her website. You can also find the latest addition of Imagyro on their website.

Next Week: Tania McCartney

  1. I loved Clockwork Spells and Magical Bells. Loved reading this interview. Thanks

Leave a Reply

