Catherine Gracey

Interview: Angus Templeton

In Actor, Australian, British, Director on September 13, 2012 at 9:00 am

Angus Templeton is a talented actor and director, who has spent the last few years roaming Germany and performing Shakespearean plays for school students. Raised in Australia, and currently based in the United Kingdom, he is preparing to return and embark on his next series of projects. Angus recently took the time to answer my questions.

1)   What is something you do in your professional or artistic life that you think is really cool?

As an actor, I think one of the most fun things to do is fall in love on stage – in fact, anything which involves heightened emotion. I was recently in Much Ado About Nothing playing Claudio, and tearing into Hero at the wedding was my favourite part of the show.

And in a broader sense – being in Shakespeare. Where everything you say is laden with huge amounts of meaning, but rolls off the tongue quickly and easily. I love Shakespeare for that reason.

When I’m a director – it’s the moment where you’re watching other people watch the show for the first time. Hearing the laughter and the silence when the audience is really pulled into the play. I find it hard to be aware, when I’m on stage, of whether what I’m doing is working or not, but as a director being able to watch it, and see that it works and works well is probably the coolest

2)   How did you come to be in the career position you are currently in?

Well, I was lucky. Very lucky actually. Being an actor is about pushing yourself as much as possible at everything that’s out there – being a successful actor anyway. I’ve never been very good at that, so I was lucky that I auditioned for the right company when I saw that they had an opening.

3)   What is something from your personal life that you are very proud of?

Learning how to cook? Man I don’t know.

Oh! Wait – when I wrote a bunch of sketches a few years ago with a friend, and getting to see people laugh at something I did. That was probably the thing I’m most proud of.

4)   What is a personality trait you possess that other people might not notice?

I’m quite shy and retiring, at heart. And I get over that by trying really hard not to be.

And alcohol.

5)   If you could change just one thing about the world, what would it be?

I’d make Australia a bilingual country, so I knew more than the one language. Probably German.

But maybe French. Chicks dig French.

6)   If you could give a young person one piece of advice, what would it be?

If you want to get anywhere, in any timely fashion in the creative industry, you need to do whatever it is you want to do (acting/directing/writing) 100% of the time. You need to push yourself at every opportunity there is, and take every job offered. Only when you start getting paid, consistently, for what you do, can you start to be discerning.

7)   What is something that you would like to do in your life that you haven’t done yet?

I haven’t directed a Shakespeare play. And I haven’t because I’ve lacked the confidence/experience.

But chances are I won’t be able to say that in about four or five months.

8)   What is something that you have sworn to never do again?

I will never again be attracted to someone in a show I’m directing. It’s distracting, and clouds your judgement.

9)   If you could break one personal habit, what would it be?

My addiction to procrastination.

10)   If you could take up a new hobby or learn a new skill, what would it be?

Wind surfing. I’ve always enjoyed that. But I never have the time or opportunity.

11)   Is there anything from you that we should be looking out for in the future?

One day I’d really like to see a modern version of Les Misérables. I’m sick and tired of the current one. I think it’d be fun to see it set in Paris now.

Thank you, Angus, for taking the time to answer my questions. If you would like to know more about  Angus, you can find him on Facebook and occasionally on Twitter.

Next Week: Matthew Farmer

Leave a Reply

