Catherine Gracey

Interview: Eric Wilson

In American, Author on November 29, 2012 at 9:00 am

Eric Wilson is a man of many talents. The fifteen novels he has written – such as 2 Seconds Late, October Baby, and the Jerusalem’s Undead Trilogy – are impressive, but I am more impressed that he has travelled to over 40 countries. Why? Because he does this from a base in Nashville, Tennessee, and finding a decent international connection from that city is painful. Eric recently took the time to answer my questions.

1)   What is something you do in your professional or artistic life that you think is really cool, and why do you think that about it?

I get to lasso creativity and then hang on for the ride. It’s scary sometimes. Sometimes I miss and fall flat. Other times, I go places I never imagined.

2)   How did you come to be in the career position you are currently in?

I worked 80 hours a week, between my “real” job and my writing, hoping to be published some day. It finally happened in 2002, when I signed a two-book contract with a division of Random House, only weeks after we lost nearly everything. I’ve had some ups and a lot of downs since then, on this writing journey, but I wouldn’t even be on this path without the steadfast support of my wife.

3)   What is something from your personal life that you are very proud of, and why are you proud?

Proud of my marriage, because both my wife and I come from divorced homes, and we have clung tightly to each other and each other’s dreams, refusing to go down that same heartbroken trail. It helps that I have a sweet and sexy wife–sometimes, she’s both at the same time, sometimes not. Meow!

4)   What is a personality trait you possess that other people might not notice, and how would they miss it?

I’m fiercely protective of those being abused, whether it’s children or women or a janitor overlooked for a raise. I’ve had knives, fists, and even a gun pointed at me while stepping in to stop guys from hitting a woman again.

5)   If you could change just one thing about the world, what would it be and why would you change it?

I’d love to see all American kids do at least one year of overseas study, just to broaden their views of art, people, politics, and religion.

6)   If you could give a young person one piece of advice, what would it be?

Start good habits now. Don’t cheat on your boyfriend/girlfriend. Save some of your money. Stay in good shape, physically and intellectually. This isn’t a sprint, but a marathon, and you’ll end up like your parents if you don’t plan differently now.

7)   What is something that you would like to do in your life that you haven’t done yet, and why haven’t you done it?

There are still so many countries I’d love to visit. Other cultures fascinate me. Unfortunately, travel costs money, even though I do so on a shoestring budget. I need some more shoestrings.

8)   What is something that you have sworn to never do again, and why won’t you repeat it?

I will never pull another all-nighter to finish a book. Just because I’ve done all-nighters for every single book I’ve ever written doesn’t mean I have to do it again. I know it’s hard to stop once I get near the end, I know I get in a zone and don’t want to quit, but my body’s getting worn out. Maybe my brain too. Oh, forget it! It’s a habit now. A ritual. I feel another all-nighter coming on!

9)   If you could break one personal habit, what would it be and why would you break it?

Chewing my fingernails. I do it when I’m in my creative mode–nibble, nibble, nibble, ponder, think, imagine–and I know it drives my wife crazy.

10)   If you could take up a new hobby or learn a new skill, what would it be and why?

Man, I’d love to learn how to rock-climb, or learn Brazilian jiujitsu. Then again, I wish I knew how to direct films, in which case I wouldn’t have to sit around waiting for Hollywood to wise up and realize how awesome my Jerusalem’s Undead Trilogy would be on film.

11)   Is there anything from you that we should be looking out for in the future?

I’m working on my next Aramis Black mystery, titled “3 Fatal Blows.” And this month I’m releasing an e-novella, the launching point of a new series called Watch Alice Go! The novella is called, “Alice Goes the Way of the Maya.” Check it out on Amazon or my website.

Thank you, Eric, for taking the time to answer my questions. If you would like to know more about Eric, you can visit his website.

Next Week: Robert J. Krog

Leave a Reply

